DRT Seal

The Daughters of the Republic of Texas

Miss Ima Hogg Chapter

Photo of Bayou Bend

History of the Miss Ima Hogg DRT Chapter

The inspiration for the organization of Miss Ima Hogg Chapter of the Daughters of the Republic of Texas was that of Mrs. Jessie Lee Klanke, Organizing President.

An organizational meeting was held on December 11, 1982, in the home of Mrs. Klanke, 3993 Del Monte Drive, Houston Texas. Eighteen members and prospective members were present: Sala RaChel Creppon, Sara Ella Gammage, Beverly Heald, Virginia Hurlburt, Billie Lou Matthews, Dorothy Nixon, Dorothy Norman, Doris Stadler, Viola White, Traci Lynn Daugs, Patricia Haley, Sandra Hendrickson, Betty Lou Ivy, Janice Mott, Margaret Nixon, Karen Pitcock, Gayle Tonn, and Lisa White.

At the organizational meeting, those present voted that

After the DRT By-Laws and duties of chapter officers were presented, the following officers volunteered to serve until the chapter was chartered, at which time a nominating committee would be elected to select a slate of officers to be installed at the May meeting:

On December 18, 1982, the Miss Ima Hogg Chapter was chartered in the home of Mrs. Jessie Lee Klanke. The nine original DRT members were Jessie Lee Klanke, Cynthia Ann Bollfrass, Emily Graybeal, Elizabeth Nixon, Edith Steele, Sheree North, Cynthia Ford, Lucille Kacal, and Debbie Papp. Prospective members who joined prior to December 31, 1983 were Doris Ditta, Ruth Hughes, Kitty Marosko, Debbie Blauser, and Laura Knowles.

This new chapter was named the Miss Ima Hogg Chapter of the DRT because Mrs. Klanke admired all the contributions Miss Ima had made to the city of Houston, and also because Miss Ima Hogg was a member of DRT.

(Information for this article from the Ancestor Biographies book, published by the Miss Ima Hogg DRT chapter.)